Province of Bologna, Region Emilia Romagna, Italy

The Province of Bologna includes a large part of Emilia and a number of communes belonging to the Romagna areas (Borgo Tossignano, Casalfiumanese, Castel del Rio, Dozza, Fontanelice, Imola, Mordano) and the territory is in large part hilly, crossed by rivers and streams tributaries of the Po.

province of Bologna


Area: 3,702 km² -- Population: about 940,000 inhabitants -- Zip/postal codes: 40121-40141 (for the city of Bologna), 40010-40069 for the rest of the province -- Phone Area Codes: 051, 0534, 0542 -- Car Plate: BO -- Communes: 60 communes -- Official website: www.provincia.bologna.it -- According to an administrative reform from 1 Jan 2014, the Province is scheduled for being replaced by the Metropolitan City of Bologna, including all the old communes.

The face of the land

The province offers treasures of art, nature and culture for an all-round tourist experience, accompanied also by the great cooking of Bologna with its world-famous tortellini and ragout sauce.

The Comuni in the province of Bologna:


Provinces of Emilia-Romagna:

Follow us on Facebook: