Province of Lecce, Puglia (Apulia) Region, Italy

Situated at the south-estern edge of Italy, the province occupies the area called Penisola Salentina with the Adriatic Sea to the east and the Ionian to the south and west.


Area: 2,759 km² -- Population: about 800,000 inhabitants -- Zip/postal codes: 73100, 73010-73059 -- Phone Area Codes: 0832, 0833, 0836 -- Car Plate: LE -- Communes: 97 communes -- According to an administrative reform from 1 Jan 2014, the Province will be enlarged to include some communes of the province of Brindisi - Cellino San Marco, Erchie, Mesagne, San Donaci, San Pancrazio Salentino, San Pietro Vernotico, Torchiarolo, Torre Santa Susanna and the commune of Avetrana presently in the province of Taranto.

The Comuni in the Province of Lecce

Where to stay

Province of Lecce

The face of the land

The ancient name of the province was Terra d'Otranto, with capital Lecce, including also the territory of the present province of Taranto. The area enjoys a unique landscape of rugged, reddish territory, villages of white-painted houses, all between sea and sky of astounding blue, and including the two splendid lakes of Alimini Grande and Alimini Piccolo.

Here and there magnificent churches and palaces, witnesses of the historical heritage of crossroads of cultures, thanks to the strategical position on the channel of Otranto. Also the local cuisine shows traits of the Arab, Spanish and Greek dishes, and the local dialect has many similarities with ancient Greek.

Follow us on Facebook: